• Counter :
  • 1715
  • Date :
  • 5/5/2007

Government and Threefold Powers

of Iran

The government of Iran is "Islamic Republic" which was founded after the Islamic Revolution in 1979. In accordance with the Constitution, the President, members of the Islamic Consultative Assembly (Parliament), and members of different councils directly elected by the people must administer the country. The threefold powers in the Islamic Republic of Iran are legislative, executive, and judiciary that are independent, but coordinated by the President and supervised by the Supreme Spiritual Leader. 

The number of Islamic Consultative Assembly representatives is 270 elected for a period of 4 years. All approvals of ICA must be ratified by the Guardian Council for the adaptation of these approvals with the Constitution and Islamic religious laws.  

Executive power is under supervision of the President who is directly elected by the people for a four-year term. 

Judiciary power is supportive of individuals as well as social rights of the nation. The highest body in the Judiciary is the Head of the Judiciary. 

Azadi Square, Tehran

Azadi Square, Tehran

Political and Administrative Divisions

According to the latest divisions of the country, Iran is divided into 28 provinces, 252 townships, and 680 districts. Each province is administered by a governor-general, each township by a governor and each district by a lieutenant governor. Covering an area of 313,000 square kilometers, Khorassan Province is the largest province of Iran and the smallest ones, each having an area of less than 15,000 square kilometers, are Gilan, Chahar Mahal & Bakhtiyari, Kohkiluyeh & Boyer Ahmad, Golestan, Qazvin and Qom.


  • Print

    Send to a friend

    Comment (0)