• Counter :
  • 438
  • Date :
  • 6/9/2004

Yarmouk University

Founded in 1976 by a Royal Decree, Yarmouk University, YU, has grown both in size and stature over the years. It has become a leading institution of higher learning, known for its dedication to service, its innovative approach to academic management and human resource development, and its relentless pursuit of excellence in all fields of research and instruction. As chartered, the University is a governmental institution that enjoys a considerable degree of autonomy.
It is governed by aBoard of Trustees, and Board members are appointed by a Royal Decree for finite terms. The University is managed according to a set of laws and bylaws specifically adopted for higher education in general and for YU in particular. The University’s mission comprises three components. The first is to provide quality education to its students in the various fields of specialization and at different levels of achievements ranging from the undergraduate levels to the M. Sc. and Ph. D. levels. The second component is to engage its faculty and students in relevant and timely research programs that would be needed to fuel economic growth and development of the country, and that would also contribute to human welfare and prosperity in its wider context. The third is to render public service at the local, national, and international levels through fostering a dynamic environment of cultural enrichment, and the provision of educational and training opportunities to non-student groups
The profile of student body is a fairly accurate fulfillment of these goals and objectives. Student enrollment stood at 17,800 at the beginning of the academic year 1999-2000. Nearly 11% were non-Jordanian, with some 46 nationalities represented on the campus. This goes a long way towards the enhancement of cross-cultural experience. The university is co-educational, and around 52% of the student body were female.
The University is linked to many other universities through bilateral agreements for cooperation, collaboration, and exchange of faculty members and students. These include regional Arab universities, as well as European, North American, and Asian universities.
Most students, or nearly 90%, were enrolled in undergraduate programs distributed among 8 faculties and 34 departments. Graduate programs at the M. Sc. level were offered in 27 areas of specialization; and at the Ph. D. level in 6 areas.

The faculties comprise the following:
Faculty of arts.
Faculty of Science
Faculty of Education and Fine Arts
Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences
Hijjawi Faculty For Technological Engineering
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Shari'a and Islamic studies
Deanship of Scientific Research and Graduate Studies
Deanship of Student Affairs

In addition, there are seven research centers and one institute, the Institute of Archeology and Anthropology, which exclusively offers graduate degree programs at the M. Sc. level. The centers, on the other hand, are all research and/or training oriented, and include the following:
Computer and Information Center
Center of Theoretical and Applied Physics
The Educational Research and Development Center
Jordanian Studies Center.
Consultation and Community Service Center

Languages Center
Aqaba Marine Science Center
Refugees , Displaced Persons And Forced Migration Studies Center.
Speech and Hearing Center

  • Print

    Send to a friend

    Comment (0)

  • Most Read Articles