• Counter :
  • 676
  • Date :
  • 8/16/2003

Third International Convention of Asia Scholars (ICAS)

19-22 AUGUST 2003

The International Convention of Asia Scholars (ICAS) is one of the largest regular gatherings of scholars whose research centres onAsia and/or Asians, especially in the humanities and social sciences. Asian studies at the start of the new millennium is increasingly cross-disciplinary and inter-regional in character, a positive development which ICAS both demonstrates and seeks to further. Convened inLeiden, the Netherlands in 1998, and Berlin, Germany in 2001, the next conference (ICAS3) takes place in Singapore in August 2003, jointly hosted and organised by the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences and the Asia Research Institute of the National University of Singapore.

The Organising Committee, ICAS3, is pleased to invite the participation of scholars in any Asia-related field of research. Submissions of proposals for panels, individual papers, posters presentations and special meetings are now closed. Over 1,000 scholars from around the world are expected to participate in ICAS3. Early registration is now open and offers substantial savings. We look forward to welcoming you toSingapore.



. Prof Wang Gungwu
Director, East Asian Institute, National University of Singapore


. Prof Maria Cynthia Rose Banzon Bautista
Dean,College of Social Sciences and Philosophy, University of thePhilippines

. Prof Supang Chantavanich
Director, Institute of Asian Studies, Chulalongkorn University

. Prof Edward K.Y. Chen
President, Lingnan University

. Prof Glen Dudbridge
President, European Association of Chinese Studies , Faculty of Oriental Studies,OxfordUniversity

. Prof Takeshi Hamashita
Institute of Oriental Culture, University of Tokyo, Centre for Southeast Asian Studies,KyotoUniversity

. Prof Ravindra K Jain
Centre for the Study of Social Systems, School of Social Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University

. Prof Kim Yung Sik
Department of Asian History, Seoul National University
President, International Society for the History of East Asian Science, Technology and Medicine

. Prof David Ludden
President, Association for Asian Studies ,Professor of History, University ofPennsylvania

. Prof Tessa Morris-Suzuki
President, Asian Studies Association of Australia
 Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies,AustralianNational University

. Prof Anthony Reid
Director, Asia Research Institute, National University of Singapore

. Prof Wim Stokhof
Director, The International Institute for Asian Studies

. Prof Syed Ahmad bin Hussein
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Universiti SainsMalaysia

. Prof Taufik Abdullah
Chairman, Indonesian Institute of Sciences

. Prof Wang Luolin
Executive Vice-President, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences

. Prof James Watson
Vice-President, Association for Asian Studies, Department of Anthropology,HarvardUniversity

  • Print

    Send to a friend

    Comment (0)