• Counter :
  • 321
  • Date :
  • 12/19/2011

Timeline of Iranian History

part 5


1921:  Reza Khan occupies the capital on February 21st and proclaims a journalist, Sayyid Zia, as the Prime Minister. Ahmad Shah appoints Reza Khan as the commander of the army. Azerbaijan and Jangali movements were defeated.


1921: The ‘Treaty of Sevres’ is signed between the Allied Forces. Kurdistan and other Ottoman territories are divided up between Turkey, Syria and Iraq. The Bakhtiyari loose their governorship and by 1923 their titles are abolished.


1922: Reza Khan re-organizes the army and defeats the Kurdish, Shahsevan and Kuhgiluya rebellions.


1923: Reza Khan is appointed prime minister. The treaty of Lausanne, confirms the Treaty of Sevres despite major protest by the Kurds. Kamal Ataturk (father of Turkey) became the first president of the new republic, after abdication of the last Ottoman Sultan.


1924: The Republic of Turkmenistan was founded in the Soviet Union.


1925: On December 12,   Reza Khan is officially declared by the parliament as the new King and the last Qajar king abdicates in his favor


1926: On April 25th – Reza Shah is crowned and the Pahlavi era begins. Mohammad Reza, the Shah's eldest son, is proclaimed Crown Prince.


1927: The Swiss educated minister of Justice, Davar, introduces more secular laws and transforms the judicial system. The compulsory military service for male adults is introduced.


1928: The parliament outlaws traditional ethnic clothing for all males, with the exception of registered clergymen. The government starts introducing new modern dress requirements.


1929: The first railway system in Iran, the Trans-Iranian Railway is inaugurated.


1932: Labor organizers are arrested throughout the country. The arrests started in 1927 and by 1932, 150 people were in jail.


1933: Iran signs a new oil contract with the Anglo-Iranian oil company and increases its shares of the profits from 16 to 20 percent.


1933: The Qashqa’i face extensive military campaigns, raids and the parliament enacts a law merging all the major tribal groups of Iran into a single confederacy. The first modern university in Iran, Tehran University is established.


1934: The tribal representation in parliament is officially abolished. All tribal titles are eliminated and the use of Kurdish dialects is prohibited in schools. Baha’i schools loose their license to teach.


1935: The name Iran is adopted as the country's official name in foreign correspondence


1936: Reza Shah, his wife and daughters attended the graduation ceremony at the Women’s Teacher Training College in Tehran. All women were advised to come unveiled. Emancipation of women was officially inaugurated.


1937: Iran, Iraq and Turkey sign a pact recognizing the existing borders and end hostilities. Azerbaijan is divided into two separate provinces.


1938: Armenian schools are closed down for a short period.


1940: A prominent Zoroastrian is gunned down, because his son in Germany, despite his father’s opposition, was broadcasting pro-Nazi sentiments.

Other Links:

Haft Keshvar (7 Countries)-part 1    

History of Ancient Medicine in Mesopotamia & Iran-part 1   

Iran, a Brief History (part 1)    

A – Z of Iran History (A)    

History of Ancient Medicine in Mesopotamia & Iran-part 2   

  • Print

    Send to a friend

    Comment (0)