• Counter :
  • 381
  • Date :
  • 5/8/2011

Iran wins World Taekwondo Championship in South Korea


Iran has made history by winning men’s overall title first time at the World Taekwondo Championships in South Korea.

The taekwondo competitions concluded on Friday in Gyeongju, South Korea.

The Iranian team supplanted host South Korea in the 2011 WTF World Taekwondo Championships, winning three gold medals, one silver, and two bronzes for a total of 74 points.

Korea, who had won the title in the past 19 editions of the championship, came second with two gold medals and two silver medals for 61 points, followed by Turkey with one gold medal, one silver medal and one bronze for 48 points.

Thailand and Spain finished at fourth and fifth places bagging 37 and 36 points respectively.

Abdollahi claimed the gold medal in the men’s -80kg category by defeating Yunus Sari from Turkey.

In the men’s -87kg final match, Yousef Karami, the bronze medalist at the 2009 World Taekwondo Championships, defeated Korean Dong Min Cha, the gold medal winner at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games, 8-6 for the gold medal.

Alireza Nassrazadany in the men’s -74kg beat Patiwat Thongsalup from Thailand 9-2 and claimed the title.

A silver medal was snatched by Mohammad Bagheri Motamed and two bronze medals went to Kourosh Rajoli and Meysam Bagheri.

Iran’s Reza Mehmandoust earned the male Best Coach Award, while Korea’s Maeng Gon Kim won the female Best Coach Award.

Croatia’s Ana Zaninovic was chosen as the female Most Valuable Player of the championships, while Turkey’s Servet Tazegul became the male Most Valuable Player, according to WTF site.

Korea managed to clinch the women’s overall title clinching one gold, two silvers and three bronzes for a total of 58 points, followed by China with two golds and two silvers for 55 points, and France with two golds and one bronze for 45 points.

The event drew athletes and officials from a record 149 countries on the entry basis.

Source: tehrantimes.com

  • Print

    Send to a friend

    Comment (0)